Police 3-1 Mbarara City

Defender Hassan Mahmood netted a hat-trick as Police condemned Mbarara City 3-1 during a Uganda Premier League game played at the MTN Omondi stadium on Wednesday.

Mahmood scored in either half as the Cops bounced back to winning ways dethroning the 13-time League champions KCCA FC from the 4th on 23 points.

Defender Mahmood Hasan celebrating his first goal against Ankole Lions with teammates at Lugogo Stadium

Mbarara City forward Jude Semugabi broke the deadlock after receiving Ronald Edwok pass from the right wing and fired the ball in the bottom corner of the net after 27 minutes.

Three goal scorer Mahmood opened his account from a perfect header off Odong Johnson’s light cross beating goalkeeper Muhammad Sekkeba for the equalizer.

Four minutes from the break, super substitute Mubarak Nsubuga met George Kiwolya’s pass from close range and made a clinical tap-in but his celebrations were cut short by the offside flag.

The Cops jubilating their victory against Ankole Lions

Golden boy Mahmood later put the Cops in the lead off a perfect header thanks to striker Odong Johnson’s inswinging corner kick from the right in the 61st minute.

Custodian Tom Ikara later stretched to deny Mbarara City’s Henry Kitegenyi and was later cautioned for resorting to time wasting, moments before Mbarara City’s captain Hilary Mukundane was booked for a foul on Brian Muluuli.

Nine minutes later, Mahmood iced on the cake when he latched home a rebound from his free kick that was initially blocked by the Ankole Lions’ wall.

Johnson Odong, who made two assists and was fouled for the third goal walked away with the man of the match plaque and prize money.

Victory drived Police to 23 points in the 4th position and will visit Sports Club Villa on Saturday at the Bombo barracks playground.

Team Lineup against  Mbarara City FC :

Tom Ikara (GK), Dennis Rukundo (C), Kimera Ruben, George Kiryowa, Hassan Mahmood, Sylvester Ssemakula, Muwadda Mawejje, Frank Tumwesigye, Brian Mululi, Johnson Odong, Dancun Seninde

Substitutes: Derrick Ochan, Henry Katongole, Tonny Kiwalazzi, Herman Wasswa, Yusuf Ssozi, Musa Matovu, Mubaraka Nsubuga

#WeAreCops #StarTimesUPL #POLMBR